Peanut Butter & Apple Overnight Oats Recipe

Peanut Butter & Apple Overnight Oats

You all might have noticed a…trend, shall we say, in my recipes. Can you even call it a trend when all you want to eat 24/7 is variations of the same meal? I feel like there are more accurate terms here, like obsession or craze or infatuation or having a bee in one’s bonnet (okay, I admit to using a thesaurus for that last one but I love it so it stays).

I am famous in my circle for waking up early, hours before I need to be at work. Secretly though I am guilty of letting time slip by and before I know it I’ve worked out, walked my dogs, wiped down every surface of my bathroom, have a full face of makeup and absolutely no time to make breakfast before I need to (literally) run to catch my train.

Enter: The Overnight Oat Experience.

If you haven’t tried them, I cannot recommend them enough. They’re great for after a workout, before a workout, maybe during a workout(???) and sometimes for dinner because who wants to turn the oven on in July when it feels like the world is set to bake at 350 anyways?

The last few recipes I whipped out my handy dandy Flavor Bible (which I highly recommend) and got to work on making some fun combinations like prunes & orange zest or dried figs & coconut. This time though, I followed my simple little heart and it led me to pure peanut buttery goodness.

I am seriously in love with this recipe. The tartness and crunchiness of the granny smith apple plays well with the sweetness of the maple syrup and the creaminess of the peanut butter, making this an extra tasty morning treat that’s still awesomely healthy.

Peanut Butter & Apple Overnight Oats

Servings: 1 Prep Time: 5 minutes Cook time: 8+ hours

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 c old fashioned oats
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder (optional)
  • 1/2 c diced granny smith apple (I left the skin on)
  • 1 Tbs natural peanut butter
  • 1 Tbs peanut butter powder, like PB2
  • 1 tsp pure maple syrup
  • 1/2 c unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • Optional topping: 1 Tbs granola

Directions:

  1. Add all ingredients except toppings to a 12 oz jar or container and mix thoroughly to combine. Store in the fridge overnight or up to 3 days.
  2. In the morning just top with granola for a nice crunch and dig in!

Notes:

  • I’ve only ever used old fashioned oats in these recipes, so proceed with caution if you’re trying any other kind.
  • I use a few kinds of protein powder, mostly vegan. The texture of Tone It Up Protein is amazing in this recipe.

I hope you enjoy these as much as I do!

 

Nutritional info per serving (with topping): Calories: 375, Total Fat: 13g, Carbohydrates: 48g, Fiber: 9g, Sugar: 15g, Protein: 19g

Nutritional info per serving (without toppings): Calories: 350, Total Fat: 13g, Carbohydrates: 43g, Fiber: 8g, Sugar: 14g, Protein: 18g

 

Oh, and none of my links are sponsored, I just love these products and use them personally!

Shared over on Confessions of a Mother Runner’s Meatless Monday link up & over at Pint Sized Baker

Confessions of a Mother Runner

One thought on “Peanut Butter & Apple Overnight Oats Recipe

Leave a comment