5 Thoughts I Had to Let Go of to Be Successful with Minimalism

The month of July has been filled with stress, and almost all of it is over STUFF. We’re moving into a new (and much smaller) apartment from our old rental house and the need to purge our belongings has never been more necessary. And yet somehow I still find myself held back by silly reasons to keep all kinds of useless things around.

5 Thoughts I Had to Let Go of to Be Successful with MinimalismLook at this beautiful, empty apartment

Last night I had the realization that I needed to identify my road blocks when it comes to my belongings and evaluate whether or not I was keeping things around that I didn’t need to (spoiler alert: I was). Once I was able to categorize my emotions and reactions, the Great Purge of ’17 went so much smoother!

1. I’ll just use that up before I throw it away. Sounds good in theory, right? I hate wasting things, and nothing says waste like tossing a half-used lotion bottle in the trash can. Here’s the thing though. I stopped using that product for a reason. I have straight up used a face toner to the bitter end even though it made my face red. What kind of messed up logic is that? If you have a product you like better, or if it’s a trend you tried and didn’t like, or if it’s a food you hate but maybe you’ll find a way to use it in a recipe that doesn’t suck on your 10th try, get that thing gone.

2. But I paid X dollars for that! No, just no. Be it furniture that you constantly bang your knee on in your crowded living room or a jar of face cream that makes you break out, get rid of it. That money has already been spent and now you’re continuing to pay for it every day through stress or storage costs.

3. I’ll figure out how to get rid of that later. I’m so guilty of this one, friends. So very guilty. Special light bulbs, batteries, old prescription pills, the list goes on. Google it now, stick the thing in your car or bag, and stop at whatever the appropriate disposal place is tomorrow. If it’s a big item like furniture, I have a whole post about how to get rid of things in creative ways. You don’t need your last broken computer decorating a corner of your living room until it’s old enough to vote, you just don’t.

4. What if I get bored without these hobbies? I purchased one piece of furniture when I moved in with my (now) fiancé and that was a set of drawers from IKEA to hold my crafting supplies. I had aspirations to become a knitter and embroider baby blankets for gifts and learn to sew and make my own Christmas cards. I kept one hobby out of all of those (I volunteer to make hats for premature babies, which is not a sentence I thought I’d be uttering while still in my 20s but hey here we are) and yet I was still hanging on to 5 drawers full of crafting junk. I’m not going to suddenly have drastically more free time in my life to pick up upholstery, and let’s be real, if I did I’d just watch a metric ton of Netflix instead.

5. I’ll just give it to (insert name here). News flash. Your friends don’t want your stuff either. Alright, obviously this isn’t always true, but you should seriously lower your expectations for your friends taking things off your hands ASAP. Most people I know are moving toward fewer things, not more (myself included, obviously) and just because something is functional and useful doesn’t mean Ashley wants you to foist it off on her in the middle of dinner (oh I have so done that). Check with your friend first and expect a polite decline on average. You’ll all be happier for it.

And there you have it. If I was leaning toward keeping an item I hadn’t used recently, I asked myself if it fell into one of these categories. If yes, then it wen the way of the dodo and I’m already feeling so much better for it!

5 Thoughts I Had to Let Go of to Be Successful with MinimalismI love these counters and I want to be able to still see them once we’re all moved in!

 

Leave a Reply

