Dinner Ideas For Leftover Tomatoes

Dinner Ideas For Leftover Tomatoes | This Miss CooksPhoto by Davies Designs on Unsplash

I have 15 tomatoes.

Which is about 13 more than I have on hand at any given time, and particularly ironic given just how much Mr Never Cooks dislikes this fruit-vegetable thing. Yes that’s right, I refuse to even pick a side in the phylogenetic tree debate.

How did we end up with 15 tomatoes, you might wonder? My fiancé’s family has a reunion at the coast every Labor Day Weekend and if there’s one thing they know how to do right it would be food. So much so that there were very nearly some hurt feelings one night when two relatives had both planned to cook. Don’t worry, crisis averted, we all just ate everything in sight.

One menu item that did get put on the back burner (only figuratively, of course) was a huge pot of chili, and we became the new owners of the ingredient list for a dish meant to feed 10. In the name of not looking a gift horse in the mouth, I’m coming up with some creative ways to use these suckers up.

First up is this gazpacho & grilled shrimp recipe that looks absolutely amazing and also justifies me owning a food processor in addition to my blender. Both might make an appearance in the making of this dinner.

Dinner Ideas For Leftover Tomatoes | This Miss CooksPhoto by Anda Ambrosini on Unsplash

For my weekly dinner party, I’ll be pulling together the fixings for burrito bowls, so It’s not really a recipe kind of night. I’ll be adding chicken and salsa to my Instant Pot, which is one of the best non-recipe recipes out there.

If there’s one way to convince Mr Never Cooks to eat a tomato, putting it side by side with some mozzarella is it.

Another inherited ingredient was buttermilk, so it’ll be easy to whip up some buttermilk ranch dressing for a spinach and tomato salad.

As usual, you can find these recipes on my weekly meal planning Pinterest Board. My honest recap for the week’s recipes goes up every Sunday, so check back in if you’d like to see how I end up substituting ingredients, any tips I pick up while making a dish, or if there were any recipe fails.

Let me know if you have any other tomato-y ideas in the comments below!

3 thoughts on “Dinner Ideas For Leftover Tomatoes

  1. Pingback: Sunday Recap: The Best Way to Use Up Those End-of-Summer Tomatoes | This Miss Cooks

  2. Pingback: Feeling Fine Friday: 5 Things Summer Taught Us About Making That Fall Bucket List | This Miss Cooks

  3. Pingback: 5 Unusual Sources of Motivation | This Miss Cooks

Leave a Reply

