Orange & Fig Avocado Toast

I’ve been increasing my mileage for marathon training (finally) and one of the habits I’ve been trying to pick up is eating before a morning run. I’m usually an empty-stomach-maybe-some-coffee runner, so it’s been challenging to find something I enjoy eating beforehand. Which, by the way, is the only time you’ll EVER hear me say the words ‘I’m having a hard time eating more food.’

Orange and Fig Avocado Toast

With those things in mind, I started playing around with some healthy higher-carbohydrate recipes to fuel those double-digit miles. I really enjoyed this one since it left me light on my feet and didn’t feel like a weight in my stomach. If you have any dairy sensitivities, I’d probably just leave the yogurt out altogether.

Orange & Fig Avocado Toast

Servings: 1 Prep Time: 5 minutes Cook time: 3 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 1 slice whole wheat bread
  • 1/2 small ripe avocado
  • 2 Tbs Greek yogurt
  • 1/2 peeled orange slices
  • 3 dried figs, halved and stems removed
  • 1 Tbs walnuts

Directions:

  1. Start the bread toasting while you prepare the other ingredients.
  2. Mash the avocado with the Greek yogurt in a small bowl and set aside.
  3. Peel the orange and halve the dried figs.
  4. When your toast is ready, spread the avocado mixture evenly on one side and top with the rest of the ingredients.
  5. Enjoy!

Notes:

  • I like using a larger slice of bread for these. My current favorite is a basic whole wheat from Trader Joe’s.
  • The more pith (white bits) you remove from your orange, the less bitter your breakfast will be.

Nutritional info per serving: Calories: 410, Total Fat: 13.1g, Carbohydrates: 53.2g, Fiber: 6.5g, Sugar: 21.2g, Protein: 10.2g

7 thoughts on “Orange & Fig Avocado Toast

  1. Pingback: How to Feel Healthy & Accomplished with Grapefruit & Egg Avocado Toast | This Miss Cooks

Leave a Reply

