Tone It Up’s 7 Day Slimdown: Planning Ahead

Hello friends! I started writing this post from the most scenic spot I’ve been in all year, the Oregon Coast.

tone-it-ups-7-day-slimdown-planning-ahead

My boyfriend & I drove out here for the holiday weekend for his family reunion and it was utterly relaxing and filled with great food. And wine. And lounging. Which of course means that by the time Sunday rolled around I was sitting at the table planning out my week ahead because my type A personality refuses to be quiet for more than a few days.

tone-it-ups-7-day-slimdown-planning-ahead
But seriously, look at that view! And the adorable retro vibe of the place.

Now, what am I planning for, exactly? I’m going to tackle Tone It Up’s 7 Day Slimdown.

What is the 7dsd? It’s a 7 day (plus 1 to ease you into less restrictive eating) plan that centers around wholesome, healthy food while cutting out the junk like most added sugar. It also includes a general workout plan to go alongside. The exact details of the 7dsd are found in the Tone It Up Nutrition Plan, which I bought from their site about a year ago.

Why would I do this? I’ve gotten deep into my I-deserve-a-treat mode and I would really like to pull myself out of the bad eating spirals I’ve found myself in recently. In general, I don’t believe in crash-dieting. What I do believe is that self-control is a muscle and when I fail to exercise it regularly enough, it gets pretty weak. I also think that sugar (not fat, not carbs, etc.) is the real health bomb and the toughest thing for me to eat in moderation.

Am I crazy? Yes, but that’s unrelated. 🙂 I’ve actually done the 7dsd before and really liked it. I was never hungry doing it, but I did get really bored! This time around I know to work around that by mixing things up. The only other sticking point for me is that I will have to make some extra time for workouts in the evenings, but I’m setting myself up for success by scheduling only the things that I love to do (like barre classes).

Here is my plan for the week, complete with workouts and meals. I’m going to tackle food first. You can see that I’ve tried to nail down everything in advance so I can go grocery shopping once and be done. It also allows me to plan for any events that I have like the dinner I host every week on Wednesday and my friend’s production of Midsummer Night’s Dream one evening.
tone-it-ups-7-day-slimdown-planning-ahead

Next up is my grocery shopping list, which I always prefer to write out by hand. I usually start with listing what I need by recipe and then condense on a separate sheet the final list. Usually I have a good idea of what I have on hand, but if I don’t want to run back and forth to my kitchen I just put a question mark on items to check all at once later. This list gets messy fast, but it’s what works for me to keep everything organized!
tone-it-ups-7-day-slimdown-planning-ahead

And finally, I take my giant pile of food and a flurry of meal prep ensues. Normally I commit Sundays to this task, but my holiday weekend out of town means a very awkward but doable Tuesday evening session. Music, podcasts & movies all help, as would an extra set of hands. Usually. If they aren’t too busy sneaking the julienned bell pepper as a snack. Not that I’m naming names of course, that would be rude.

I try to carefully plan out the order of cooking so I combine things that go into the oven at the same temperatures and the longer cooking stuff gets started earlier instead of about half an hour before I wanted to be asleep. Here’s what my meal prep last night looked like:

  • Preheat the oven to 400° & start the quinoa boiling
  • Place dried chicken breasts in a baking dish with oil & seasoning and cover with parchment paper
  • Prep dinner vegetables by chopping or trimming where needed and tossing them lightly with oil & seasoning on baking trays
  • Pop chicken & vegetables into the oven and check on them regularly to take things out as they finish at different times (tip: slightly undercook veggies so they stay firmer when reheated)
  • Cube and saute the tofu in oil & seasonings (tip: mix things up to avoid boredom)
  • Chop scramble & salad vegetables and store in the fridge
  • Tear up kale leaves and massage in dressing for the week (tip: kale gets better in dressing over time!)
  • Make hummus (tip: homemade is delicious) & chia seed pudding
  • Pack everything away as necessary in the fridge & freezer (tip: freeze some of the cooked chicken if you don’t want to have to make more midweek for the later days)

The second part of this 7dsd is of course planning my workouts. I need variety and excitement to motivate myself to regularly work out. In fact, that’s how I found Tone It Up in the first place! I’m a huge fan of their weekly workout guides and a big portion of their videos are free  on their site and Youtube. I’ll talk more about their workouts at a later date, but all of my toning routines will be from their website or their DVDs for the 7dsd.

I also have a ClassPass membership that I love and will be utilizing heavily this week. I have Zumba, Barre, HIIT & Spin classes all planned out at various boutique gyms near me.

Check back later this week to see how it all goes! I officially started today, so wish me luck. 😉

Let me know if you have any questions in the comments, I’d be happy to answer them for you if I can!

Leave a Reply

