To Blog or Not to Blog: Is That Even a Question These Days?

 

I’ve been thinking about starting a blog for past few years but the project always seemed so daunting to this narratively challenged person. Writing has never come easily to me and I’m pretty atrocious at word choice and commas, but I realized that having a creative outlet is important for everyone. If this adventure isn’t for me, at least I can say I gave it my best shot (and cross it off a few ancient to-do lists in the process).

Almost exactly four years ago I started my first job out of college in a research lab and while I find my work there rewarding, it allows for precious little in the way of imagination and fun. I’ve written poster abstracts and methods sections until my eyes were sore but I’m not calling those exciting literature. Most of the time I’m actually quite comfortable with being details-oriented on months-long experiments, but I’ve really started to let other facets of my life and personality slide.

Yesterday I got a stern talking to from a caring acquaintance about making time to let other parts of my personality out occasionally. There’s an extra perk to all of this as well. It will hopefully give me the impetus to explore things that interest me – in the hopes that they’ll interest you too.

The older I get the more I realize I have so much unexpectedly in common with others I meet, from my love of grocery shopping and Costco to my avid interest in number crunching and statistics. I’ve even found that the concepts and skills we want to learn are very similar!

I’m hoping that this blog can be a place where I share the things about myself that connect me on some level to other people, be they loved ones or strangers. I’m always impressed by the bloggers who strike this perfect camaraderie with their readers and can convey an openness that makes blog posts feel like conversations with an old friend.

I’m not quite sure yet what the scope or depth of this will be, but I do know that I needed to start it. For now, I’ll leave you with this.

Screen Shot 2016-08-20 at 9.31.46 PM
2 thoughts on “To Blog or Not to Blog: Is That Even a Question These Days?

  1. Congratulations on starting a blog and happy blogging! I started my blog with similar intention and hopes. It has been almost 4 months ago and I’m learning a lot and enjoying the experience. Hope it will be the same for you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

